The Brat Attack

1 – How did the Brat Attack form?

It was the end of 2001 and I was really into power-pop-punk with the synth leads. So I wanted to start a serious band, inspired by Greg Rekus’s drive with high 5 Drive. Also my band at the time, Gizmo wanted to be less political and I wanted to go the other way, so the Brat Attack formed. The original line up had Jessica Brown on Vocals, Ricky Green (Billy Joe Green’s daughter) on Bass and Dr.Dre (of the East Side Mullet Crew) on Drums. All the original leads on “One Revolution Per minute” were written on Keys. We soon had a quick switch over with my partner at the time Ana on bass and vocals and Jeffy T (Jet Set Satilite/Farrell Bro’s) on Drums. Charlie from Evil Survives played a few shows and did all the amazing leads/solo’s on the first album.

2 – Have you guys ever done benefit concerts? If so, How did you become involved with that?

Plenty of Benefit shows..The most recent that comes to mind is a Books for Prisoners shows in Kitchener-Waterloo. There have been so many over the years. People know we are a political band, fighting against social injustice and we are totally into donating our time, helping causes, anyone can ask us to play and we are usually good to go, unless it’s semi sketchy with Christian leanings…as there has been one or two of those disguised as poverty benefits but turned out to be for missionary work.

3 – You went through quite a few members in the band, Are you happy with the lineup you have now?

[Laughs] Who’s in the band this week?…No seriously, this last tour we had 2 drummers, 4 bass players, 2 guitar players, at home we have 3 local drummers….I don’t know who’s in the band at the moment, at this point it’s just a collective of friends who can play when they have free time.

4 – Have you toured with anybody you were influenced by growing up?

Actually yah, played a few shows with a band called Star Fucking Hipsters, who Scott from Leftover Crack is in..and he was a huge song writing influence. Over the years I have gotten to open for Propagandhi, Anti-flag, Suicide Machines and John K Samson as far as influential people go.

5 – What was the most memorable moment of The Brat Attack in the last 10 years?

Sooo many memories, so much fun..hard to really pin point an exact moment.

6 – If you could change anything about the music industry, what would it be and why?

Music industry is dead, I like where it is now, the big guys are struggling, the artists have more control. It’s shifted so much in the past 2 years and there’s less crap out there I find. Not everyone is trying to “make it” and put more effort into writing better music.

7 – How is being on tour right now with Chix N Dix?

The Chixie Dicks didn’t come on tour with us, it was just their singer Krystal is also our lead singer.

8 – What are the rest of your plans for 2012?

We start work on the new album ASAP. Finish up some pre-production/lyric writing and bang off a 10 song album. Decided to keep the album shorter for the next release.

9 – How has your music evolved since you first started out?

It’s gotten a little more experimental with structure for sure, also much heavier. Early stuff was straight ahead pop-punk. Now it’s all over the place musically which makes it more fun for sure!

10 – What is your favorite record you recorded with The Brat Attack?

“Those who sow sorrow shall reap rage” was my fave as I really got to put a lot into it , musically and politically. I wrote essays for the tunes as well. Really expand on what I was trying to say with the songs, also got to do more sound clips, I love a good sound clip.

11 – How has the Canadian music scene changed in the last 10 years? Was it for the better or worse?

Way less shitty screamo bands, thank goodness…Screamo is good, when executed well, but it’s a disaster when people half ass it. The Scene has gotten better, less corporate…less douche bag bands…less bands with portable interact machines and pre-signed promo press pics.

12 – What albums did you grow up listening to?

Bad Religion: No Control
Fugazi: Margin Walker
Nofx: White trash , 2 Heebs and a Bean
Public Enemy: Fear of a Black Planet

13 – Any final words for your fans?

Uh..final words? Like this is the end? We’re going to die? (Laughs)…Uh…ooh to quote bebe’s kids…”We don’t die, we multiply.”

Fan questions:
Dale Spradling(Brookville, Ohio)
Who was your inspiration to start learning Guitar?

I did a lot of air guitar to Beatles and Beach Boys when I was in grade 3, so my love for rock n roll stemmed from that, I wanted a electric guitar when I was in grade 5 but had to wait until grade 7 until I got my first one, I remember one year in grade 5 there was a really big package under the Christmas tree and I was stoked cause I thought it was a guitar…it was Turbo Train 2…not complaining as Turbo train was rad…but you know…..

Gary Vanluling(Oshawa, Ontario)
How did you end up getting signed with Underground Operations?

Long time friends with London and Jesse from Closet Monster (whom also ran Underground Monkey Operations-also the original name) and they liked the Brats and we had the drive to get er done. (Laughs)…GET ER DONE !! We like touring and are not afraid of the hard work.

Christine Wheeler(Charlottetown,PEI)
As a politically active and socially conscience person how does that effect your song writing?

Hugely..I feel like I shouldn’t be wasting my time or peoples times with silly songs about heart ache and so fourth. I have a chance to convey idea’s and messages with my music, so I am going to use it.

Joel Marleau(Calgary,Alberta)
How did you come up with the name The Brat Attack?

The idea behind the Brat Attack is that we live in a privileged society (which I saw today shopping for ingredients for vegan quasidias), people are consuming way to much, as a bunch of brats. We realize we are brats of the 1st world and we are biting the hand that feeds. Hence..the Brat Attack…